IDSA announces Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence designation recipients

Nov. 21, 2023
Fourteen hospitals and health systems have been identified by the Infectious Diseases Society of America as top antimicrobial stewardship centers

According to a Nov. 17 press release, the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) announced the recipients of its Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence designation to 14 institutions.

The institutions developed stewardship programs led by infectious disease-trained physicians and pharmacists that advance the fight against antimicrobial resistance. Additionally, the institutions demonstrated standards aligned with national guidelines, like IDSA-SHEA guidelines and the CDC’s Core Elements.

A total of 177 programs nationwide have received the designation since the program’s launch in 2017.

The institutions awarded the CoE (Centers of Excellence) designation for 2023 are:

  • Atrium Health Cabarrus - Concord, N.C.
  • Inova Fairfax Medical Campus - Falls Church, Va.
  • Mary Greeley Medical Center - Ames, Iowa
  • Mayo Clinic Mankato - Mankato, Minn.
  •  Montefiore St. Luke's Cornwall - Newburgh, N.Y.
  • Plainview Hospital - Plainview, N.Y.
  • Sanford Medical Center Fargo - North Fargo, N.D.
  • Terrebonne General - Houma, La.
  • The Queen's Medical Center - Honolulu
  • Virtua Marlton Hospital - Voorhees, N.J.
  • Virtua Mount Holly Hospital - Voorhees, N.J.
  • Virtua Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital - Voorhees, N.J.
  • Virtua Voorhees Hospital - Voorhees, N.J.
  • Virtua Willingboro Hospital - Voorhees, N.J.

IDSA president Steven Schmitt, MD, FIDSA, was quoted in the release. He said, “As we enter U.S. Antibiotic Awareness week, we’re reminded that drug-resistant infections continue to increase. “As IDSA continues to advocate for passage of the PASTEUR Act and the establishment of a grant program to strengthen antimicrobial stewardship programs in hospitals, the Centers of Excellence program recognizes hospitals that are joining us in that fight. We continue to count on each of these Centers of Excellence institutions to showcase the critical value of antimicrobial stewardship. We honor those institutions that have shown innovation and leadership in fighting antimicrobial resistance.”