Dr. Susan Bakewell-Sachs appointed Chair of AACN Board of Directors

March 25, 2020
The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) announced that Susan Bakewell-Sachs, PhD, RN, FAAN, dean and vice president for nursing affairs at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) School of Nursing, has been appointed Chair of the AACN Board of Directors. 

"As Board Chair, I look forward to working collaboratively to continue AACN's lead role in academic nursing during this extraordinary time and to supporting nurse leaders across the country. AACN will remain a catalyst for excellence and innovation in nursing education, research, and practice," said Dr. Bakewell-Sachs. "I am fully committed to working with my fellow Board members to advocate for quality nursing education and research while amplifying the impact AACN has on improving the nation's health and health care."

Dr. Susan Bakewell-Sachs is a nationally recognized scholar and clinical expert in the care of prematurely born infants, as well as a distinguished leader in academic nursing. Prior to assuming her current role at OHSU in 2013, she served as nursing faculty at the University of Pennsylvania; program director, professor and dean at The College of New Jersey (TCNJ) School of Nursing, Health & Exercise Science; and Interim Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs at TCNJ. A strong nurse advocate, she was the director of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s (RWJF) New Jersey Nursing Initiative, chair of the New Jersey Association of Baccalaureate and Higher Degree Programs, member of the March of Dimes National Nursing Advisory Council, and on the steering committee of the Oregon Action Coalition. Dr. Bakewell-Sachs was an RWJF Executive Nurse Fellow, Cohort 2007, where her leadership development project focused on strategic effectiveness and nursing education.

In support of AACN’s mission, Dr. Bakewell-Sachs has served on the Governance Task Force, as chair of the Program Committee and the Clinical Nurse Leader (CNL) Steering Committee, member of the Government Affairs Committee, and state grassroots liaison for New Jersey and Oregon, among other key roles. A graduate of AACN’s Leadership for Academic Nursing Program, she has helped shape many of the association’s signature programs through her service on the Board, including the advancement of the CNL role, support for academic-practice partnerships, and the re-envisioning of the AACN Essentials.

“During my tenure as Board Chair, I will support coalition building and AACN’s leadership around addressing faculty and workforce needs, building inclusive learning environments, and accelerating the move to competency-based education to improve practice, research, and education,”  added Dr. Bakewell-Sachs.

Joining Dr. Bakewell-Sachs on the AACN Board of Directors are these continuing and new members: Chair-Elect Cynthia McCurren from Grand Valley State University; Treasurer Lin Zhan from the University of Memphis; Secretary Jean Leuner from Auburn University Montgomery; Jean Giddens from Virginia Commonwealth University; Judith Karshmer from Arizona State University; Jerry Mansfield from Mount Carmel Health System; Victoria Niederhauser from the University of Tennessee Knoxville; Randolph Rasch from Michigan State University; Julie Sanford from the University of Mississippi Medical Center; Jan Strom from Aurora University; Terri Weaver from the University of Illinois at Chicago; and Marge Wiggins from the Maine Health System. In addition, AACN’s President and Chief Executive Officer Deborah Trautman serves as an ex-officio member of the AACN Board.

AACN has the announcement.