AACN announces 2020 award recipients

June 29, 2020

The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) has announced the recipients of its 2020 Pioneering Spirit Awards, the Marguerite Rodgers Kinney Award for a Distinguished Career and the ICU Design Citation. 

“These healthcare professionals exemplify why AACN is a community of exceptional nurses. Their efforts are transforming healthcare and shaping the future of nursing practice within their units, in the classroom, and throughout their organizations and their communities,” said AACN President Megan Brunson.

Award recipients are: 

·       Norma Metheny receives the 2020 Marguerite Rodgers Kinney Award for a Distinguished Career. Metheny is a professor and the Dorothy A. Votsmier Endowed Chair in Nursing at Saint Louis University. Her research has influenced feeding-tube placement guidelines that set standards of care nationally and internationally, and her body of work demonstrates her strong belief that nurses’ frontline clinical work provides an invaluable foundation and motivation for research.

·        Linda Scott receives an AACN Pioneering Spirit Award, in recognition of her research on nurse fatigue, loss of sleep and inability to recover between shifts, which provided scientific evidence to support increased nurse staffing and better fatigue management. She is professor and dean of the University of Wisconsin–Madison School of Nursing.

·        Also receiving an AACN Pioneering Spirit Award is Rose Sherman, a healthcare leadership expert who has dedicated much of her career to the development and advancement of nurse leaders. She is professor emerita of the Nursing Leadership Institute in the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing at Florida Atlantic University. 

·        Cliff Morrison and Alison Moëd receive AACN Pioneering Spirit Awards for their efforts to innovate treatment for patients with AIDS in the early 1980s. Together, they created the San Francisco Model, a patient-centered approach that highlights patient leadership in the plan of care, multidisciplinary discharge planning and community involvement. Unit 5B at San Francisco General Hospital became the first unit in the United States specifically dedicated to patients diagnosed with AIDS. 

·        The pediatric intensive care units at Texas Children’s Hospital’s Lester and Sue Smith Legacy Tower, Houston, receives the annual ICU Design Citation. The PICUs in the newly built tower have 84 private patient rooms, dedicated neurological and cardiac ICU rooms, surgical ICU rooms and a transitional ICU. 

In addition, 15 nurses are receiving the AACN Circle of Excellence Award, in recognition of the high regard in which they’re held by their colleagues and their commitment to achieving excellent outcomes in the care of acutely and critically ill patients and their families. 

Class of 2020 Circle of Excellence Award recipients are:

  • Emily Beckwith, UCSD Medical Center Hillcrest, San Diego
  • Kelly Drumright, VA Medical Center, Nashville, Tennessee
  • Susan Fowler, Orlando Health, Florida
  • Rosalie Grantoza, Raritan Bay Medical Center, Old Bridge, New Jersey
  • Nathalee Grue, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Iowa City
  • Serena Kelly, OHSU Doernbecher Children’s Hospital, Portland, Oregon
  • Mary LaMartina, Kenmore Mercy Hospital, Kenmore, New York
  • Kayline Martinez, El Camino Hospital, Mountain View, California
  • Brooke McLaughlin, UNC Health Care, Chapel Hill, North Carolina
  • James Miller Jr., Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
  • Dannette Mitchell, Christiana Care Health System, Wilmington, Delaware
  • Lauren Morata, Lakeland Regional Health, Florida
  • Karen Nigra, UPMC Presbyterian, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
  • Jamie Roney, Covenant Health, Lubbock, Texas
  • Laryssa Thompson, Duke Regional Hospital, Durham, North Carolina 

AACN has the releases