Calling submissions for 2020 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards

Aug. 31, 2020

The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum (NQF) announced they are seeking submissions for the 2020 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards.

This patient safety awards program was launched in 2002 in honor of the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), and an impassioned advocate for healthcare quality improvement with enduring contributions and leadership to the healthcare field.

The Eisenberg Awards recognize major achievements by individuals and organizations to improve patient safety and healthcare quality. Previous winners include Gordon D. Schiff, MD, Brent C. James, MD, HCA Healthcare, The Society of Thoracic Surgeons, WellSpan Health, and BJC HealthCare, among many others who have made significant and long-lasting contributions to improving patient safety and healthcare quality.

Submissions are accepted for awards in three categories: 

·       Individual Achievement – Individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and scholarship in patient safety and healthcare quality through a substantive lifetime body of work.

·        National Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality – A project or initiative that extends beyond local areas to being implemented on a national level.

·        Local Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality – A project or initiative that effects impact at the local community, organization or regional level (e.g., statewide).

Healthcare organizations submitting nominations for the local and national level innovation awards must be able to provide evidence of sustained improvements for at least 12 months. Exceptions to this rule will be made for initiatives related to COVID-19 and pandemic response efforts, as The Joint Commission and NQF recognize the need to share best practices for the rapid improvement of COVID-19 patient care nationwide.

The award submission period opened on Aug. 24, 2020 and closes on Oct. 5, 2020. Applications will be evaluated by a panel of experts and leaders in healthcare quality and safety, chaired by Carolyn Clancy, MD, Deputy Undersecretary for Discovery, Education and Affiliate Networks (10X), Veterans Health Administration.

Joint Commission has the release.