Healthmark honored with hometown recognition

Sept. 30, 2022

Leaders from Macomb County recently recognized Healthmark Industries with a Hometown Hero Award at the 10th annual Macomb County Business Awards ceremony.

Business leaders from across the region attended the 10th annual Macomb Business Awards at the historic Emerald Theater in downtown Mount Clemens on Thursday, September 22. Macomb County Executive Mark A. Hackel joined Vicky Rowinski, director of the Macomb County Department of Planning & Economic Development, to recognize winners in several categories:

• Hidden Gem       

A business with up to 50 employees that offers a unique “made in Macomb” product or service that more people should know about.

• Hometown Hero

An organization that goes above and beyond to help their community by providing assistance, donations, volunteer and/or promotional support to a cause or for a local need.

• Manufacturer of the Year

A manufacturer or supplier of any size in any industry that is achieving success through its efforts to diversify its customer base and implement new technologies or efficiencies, including Industry 4.0 practices.

• Small But Mighty Award

A microbusiness or small operation with less than ten employees that has identified an important community need and addressed it through their service or offerings. Must have a brick and mortar presence.

• Trailblazer of Future Talent

A company that creates opportunities for the next generation of Macomb County’s workforce to explore career possibilities and experience work-based learning.

• Workforce Champion

A company that demonstrates agility and creativity in response to workforce needs, including talent attraction, employee retention and making a conscious effort to build a diverse, equitable and inclusive workplace for all.

• Economic Development Partner of the Year • Beacon of Economic Development A panel of judges reviewed 131 nominations and selected winners in each category.

Judges included: Gene Lovell, board chairman of First State Bank; Karen Smith, executive director of Leadership Macomb; Jim Sawyer, president of Macomb Community College; April Jones-Boyle, senior advisor of entrepreneurship and innovation at the Velocity Center; and Vicky Rowinksi, director of Macomb County Planning and Economic Development. Winners were announced at the afternoon event.     

Healthmark release